TMC Emerges Victorious In West Bengal By-Polls

Bengal’s ruling Trinamool Congress candidates were way ahead of rivals in the vote count on Tuesday to the two Lok Sabha seats and one assembly seat where by-polls were held on Saturday.

The BJP has emerged as a surprise package by moving up to the second place in two out of three constituencies ahead of the Left Front and the Congress. Trinamool Congress nominee Partha Pratim Roy was ahead by 94,000 votes at the end of third round of counting in Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat , leading to his win.

BJP’s Hem Chandra Burman was running in the second place ahead of Left Front partner All India Forward Bloc’s Nripendranath Roy. TMC’s Dibyendu Adhikari won Tamluk Lok Sabha seat by 4,97,528 votes. He defeated his nearest CPI(M) rival Mandira Panda by 4.97 lakh votes. TMC candidate Saikat Panja wins Monteswar Assembly bypoll, defeating his nearest CPI-M rival Md Osman Gani Sarkar by 1,27,127 votes.

The Cooch Behar seat fell vacant after the death of Trinamool’s Renuka Sinha, while Tamluk has gone to the hustings as the incumbent MP Suvendu Adhikari became a minister in Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Cabinet. Trinamool lawmaker Sajal Panja’s death caused the Monteshwar assembly by-poll.


Popular posts from this blog

Largest casino chain Deltin enters Sikkim

Middle age man commits suicide by jumping infront of a train near Siliguri

Several dead bodies of children found in Thailand with their organs removed